Portland Trail Blazers

The Portland Trail Blazers, commonly called the Blazers, are an American professional basketball group based in Portland, Oregon. The Trail Blazers compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of this league’s Western Conference Northwest Division. The team played its home games at the Memorial Coliseum before proceeding to Moda Center in 1995 (called the Rose Garden before 2013). The franchise entered the league as an expansion team in 1970, and has enjoyed a solid following: by 1977 through 1995, the group sold out 814 consecutive home games, the longest such streak in American major professional sports in the moment, and only since surpassed from the Boston Red Sox. [9] The Trail Blazers are the only NBA team based in the bi-national Pacific Northwest, following the Vancouver Grizzlies jumped to Memphis and became the Memphis Grizzlies in 2001 along with the Seattle SuperSonics relocated to Oklahoma City and became the Oklahoma City Thunder in 2008.
The team has advanced to the NBA Finals three times, winning the NBA championship after in 1977. Their other NBA Finals appearances were in 1990 and 1992. The group has qualified for the playoffs in 34 seasons of their 48-season existence, including a series of 21 straight appearances from 1983 through 2003, tied for the second longest streak in NBA history. The Trail Blazers’ 34 playoff appearances rank third in the NBA just behind the Los Angeles Lakers and San Antonio Spurs because the team’s beginning in 1970. Six Hall of Fame players have played for the Trail Blazers (Lenny Wilkens, Bill Walton, Clyde Drexler, Dra??en Petrovi??, Arvydas Sabonis, and Scottie Pippen). Bill Walton is the franchise’s most decorated player; he was the NBA Finals Most Valuable Player in 1977, and also the regular season MVP the subsequent calendar year. Four Blazer rookies (Geoff Petrie, Sidney Wicks, Brandon Roy and Damian Lillard) have won the NBA Rookie of the Year award. Three players have earned the Most Improved Player award: Kevin Duckworth (1988), Zach Randolph (2004), and CJ McCollum (2016). Two Hall of Fame coaches, Lenny Wilkens and Jack Ramsay, have patrolled the sidelines for the Blazers, and also others, Mike Schuler and Mike Dunleavy, have won the NBA Coach of the Year Award with the team.

Read more: hockeytifo.org

Lascia un commento

Questo sito usa Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come i tuoi dati vengono elaborati.